Nascar Nationwide Series

Nascar Nationwide Series Tickets

The Phoenix International Raceway located in Avondale, Arizona is once again becoming host to the NASCAR Nationwide Series. The stock car racing competition that is known to bring in race fanatics from all over America has been exciting fans for over two decades now. Constructors namely Ford, Chevrolet and Toyota are known to provide stock cars to racers competing in the competition. Previous year’s Nationwide Series presented Austin Dillon, number 22 from the Penske racing team, as 2013’s champion. Nationwide Series tickets will allow fans to witness this year’s winning driver as he makes his way across the finishing line.

Although we have run out of Nascar Nationwide Series Tickets, we would like to invite you to view tickets in the following places


Nationwide Series

Tournament Type

Annual Stock Car Racing Competition

Circuit Type

Minor League Circuit 

The Phoenix International Speedway

Expected to take place at the Phoenix International Raceway, a tri-oval, low-banked race track located in Arizona, the raceway offers one-mile of racing space. Inaugurated in 1964, the speedway has gained popularity for hosting NASCAR Sprint Cup Series, NASCAR Camping World Truck Series and NASCAR Nationwide Series. With a total of thirteen turns, the race track is spread over 2.43 kilometers and offers seating space for over 67,000 spectators. Previous popular racing tournaments that have been held at the facility include USAC Phoenix 150, Indy Lights Phoenix 150, CART Slick 50-200, Indycar Series and Rolex Sports Car Series. This season, the Phoenix International Raceway is once again inviting residents of Arizona and America to become witness to NASCAR Nationwide Series.

About the NASCAR Nationwide Series

Inaugurated in 1982, the NASCAR Nationwide Series was created from the NASCAR Sportsman Division. The Nationwide Series is the fourth racing series founded in the short track race division coming after the Roadster and Modified series of 1948 and the Strictly Stock series inaugurated in 1949. In the initial races, the stock cars that were used were smaller with V-6 motors installed. The present day, Nationwide Series were initially sponsored by Anheuser-Busch Company. Back in 1982, its subsidiary company, Budweiser supported the races and the race series were called the Busch Grand National Series. It was in 2003 that the title “Grand National” was dropped from the title and NASCAR was added, after the Budweiser decided not to renew its contract with NASCAR. Hence in 2008 the racing competition became the NASCAR Nationwide Series.

Stock Cars Used in the Series

Cars that are used in the current season include Dodge Charger and Dodge Challenger from the Chrysler manufacturing company, Ford Fusion and Ford Mustang from Ford Manufacturers, Camry from Toyota and Chevrolet Monte Carlo SS, Impala SS and Impala and Camaro from General Motors. At the time of the series inception, a wide variety of cars from General Motors were used. It was during the eighties when the 311-cubic inch engines’ 1977 X-Body cars were replaced with the 1987 G-Body cars. Throughout these years, Ford’s Thunderbird car series were consistently used during the racers. In 1989, NASCAR came up with rules regarding car body styles. Race rules now require drivers to use car body styles similar to that seen in the Sprint Cup Series. Even though the V-6 engine still remained in use, a Sprint Cup car format was adopted. The nineties brought forth further changes as the V-6 engine was replaced with the 9:1 compression radio V-8 engine. Furthermore the weight of the cars was reduced from 3,800 pounds to 3,300 pounds. Lastly in 2006, the use of unleaded Sunoco GT 260 fuel instead of leaded fuel became mandatory for all drivers. Even though Sprint Cup cars have adopted an alternative fuel delivery system i.e. fuel injection, the stock cars used in the Nationwide Series still use the carbureted fuel injection system.

Nationwide Series Champions

Since the racing competition switched from being the Busch Series to NASCAR Nationwide Series, it has brought forth 6 champions. In 2008, race car driver Clint Bowyer from the Joe Gibbs racing team took home the trophy. Kyle Busch and Brad Keselowski from the Joe Gibbs team won the series in 2009 and 2010, respectively. In 2011 and 2012, Ricky Stenhouse Jr., became the Nationwide Series Champion. Currently the title is held by Austin Dillon who will be defending it at this year’s racing tournament.


Did You Know?

  • Since 1989 NASCAR has awarded racers with the Rookie of the Year Award. In 2013, Kyle Larson was presented with this honor.
  • The racer with the most number of wins is Kyle Busch with a massive amount of 63 wins.
  • In 2010, NASCAR unveiled its “Car of Tomorrow” that presented modified models of Camry, Challenger, Camaro and Mustang.
  • The present Nationwide Series presents strict guidelines for car specifications from chassis to transmission, engine displacement, torque, fuel, wheelbase, steering, tires and weight.
  • The tire supplier for the Nationwide Series since its inception is the Goodyear Tire Company.