Champions Tennis Series

Champions Tennis Series Tickets

Tennis enthusiasts are in for a treat as the Champions Tennis Series inaugurates its 2014 season. Sponsored by PowerShares QQQ since 2011, the tennis tournament presents former members from the Association of Tennis Professionals Tour. Since 2006 the tennis series have held countless tennis playoffs that have been held in Athens, Greece, Houston, Texas, Memphis and Tennessee. Players who were declared champions include Jim Courier for the years 2006 and 2008 and Todd Martin in 2007. With the renewal of the series in 2011, word for the availability of Champions Tennis Series tickets is expected to spread out like wild fire.  

Although we have run out of Champions Tennis Series Tickets, we would like to invite you to view tickets in the following places


Champions Tennis Series

Running Time per Game

3 hours

Event Type

Touring Tennis Tournament

The BJCC; Host Arena

The forthcoming tennis competition is expected to make its way to the BJCC; Birmingham-Jefferson Convention Complex. Inaugurated in 1976, the sports’ complex and entertainment facility is situated in Birmingham, Alabama. Currently controlled and operated by the Birmingham-Jefferson Civic Center Authority, the venue cost over four hundred and twenty seven million dollars to construct. Providing seating space for as much as nineteen thousand audiences, the complex consists of three entertainment vicinities, namely the concert hall, theater and the arena. Serving as home grounds to teams namely Birmingham Bulls, UAB Blazers and Alabama Steeldogs, the venue is known to host Final 48 Championships since 1976. Apart from hosting football games, the BJCC has presented basketball events, WWE wrestling matches and some of Disney’s most popular live acts. Tennis tournaments that have taken place at the facility include the 2009 Davis Cup between teams namely Switzerland and US. Players that competed for the win include James, Andy Roddick, Stanislas Wawrinka, Mike Bryan and Bob Bryan. This time the Champions Tennis Series event is making its way to the grand complex.

Game Introduction & Format

The Champions Tennis Series is a friendly tournament in which legendary players of the sport compete in a round robin format. At the end of each tournament, a champion is picked on the very last day. Produced by the Inside Out Sports & Entertainment Company, the tournament holds a minimum entry age of thirty years. Players who are eligible to compete in this prestigious event should either have been a finalist in the Glam-Slam singles or a finalist for the Davis Cup. A player who has been listed amongst the top 5 single tennis players can also partake in the competition. Since 2009 the tennis tournament has adopted a new format in which a six-player field will be used. Players who land in the top two spots will automatically advance to the semi-finals. The remaining four players will then compete to win advancement into the semi-finals. If by chance a match is tied, a tiebreaker with ten points and a win by two sets will determine the winner.

About the 2014 Champions’ Series

In 2011, PowerShares QQQ decided to sign an agreement becoming a multi-year sponsor for the Champions Tennis Series event. Introducing a new format for the games, the tournament presents a single evening event where four players will compete in two semi-final playoffs. The players with the best game out of these semi-finals advance to compete in an eight game, pro-set. This game will determine the champion. After a break of five years, the Champions Tennis Series returns to present its 2014 season. Over the years, the tournament has presented some of tennis’s most awaited games where the best players put forth a competitive front. In the 2006 event, players namely Jim Courier, John McEnroe, Todd Martin, Wayne Ferreira and Magnus Larsson competed for the championship with Jim Courier winning the game. In 2007, playoffs between players Todd Martin, Jim Courier, Pete Sampras, Wayne Ferreira and John McEnroe took place and Todd Martin prevailed as the champion. In the 2008 Champions Tennis Series, Jim Courier, John McEnroe, Todd Martin, Wayne Ferreira and Aaron Krickstein battled it out and Jim Courier won the tournament for the second time.

Witness who will become this year’s champion as the 2014 PowerShares Series presents some of tennis’s most iconic players.


More to Know:

  • The PowerShares Series will present a twelve city tour with single night tournaments in each city.
  • From the 12 tennis games, four winners are expected to be chosen, who will compete as pairs in the semi-finals game.
  • Players who are expected to compete this year are Andy Roddick, Andre Agassi, Jimmy Connors, Ivan Lendl, Pete Sampras, Michael Chang and James Blake, including others.
  • The Champions Tennis Series allows VIP guests and sponsors to mingle with the players and listen to their on-court experiences and expertise.
  • The Champions Tennis Series tournament is brought forth by partners mainly PowerShares, Cancer Treatment Centers of America, Camden Wealth Advisors and UTSA.